Watching an OTR Reno.

A good friend of mine recently purchased an amazing building on Elm Street in Cincinnati’s historic and beautiful Over-the-Rhine.  This 19th century limestone building is large in scale and unique for the neighborhood, as the number of 4 story, non-institutional buildings in this part of OTR are rare.  The building also sits on the future Cincinnati Streetcar line, is a half block north of Music Hall, and a half block north of the soon to be revamped Washington Park.  Needless to say this is an incredible location that will only get better over the next few years.

I was recently in Cincinnati for an Opera event and so my friend, knowing how historic preservation and OTR get me all hot and bothered and weak at the knees, gave me a tour of the building, which is soon-to-be gutted and rehabbed into condos.  I figured I would snap a few pictures and get some before shots before work starts.  I am hoping to be able to get to Cincinnati frequently enough to follow the building’s progress.  As that happens, I will continue to post pictures and follow the building from start to finish.  Enjoy the pictures below. 

2 Responses to “Watching an OTR Reno.”


  1. 1 Blake Fox November 25, 2009 at 4:19 am

    Thanks for posting the pics. He had only a few on Facebook. Exciting project.

  2. 2 Paul Willham November 26, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Thats a great building. Ive always admired it. Shame its being condoed as I always felt it would make a great single family “grand residence”, something I think OTR will really need in the future as people “grow up” and want their own single family home but do not want to leave OTR to find it. OTR may be “overbuilt” condo-wise in a few years and the single family homes will be highly desirable. I certainly understand why they are taking the condo approach as its safer than doing a large single family. Its interesting to note in cities like Brooklyn NY, or Washington DC the trend now is to buy all the condos in a brownstone and take it back to a high end single family which typically then sell in the millions to executives who want a grand home and are willing to pay the big bucks to have everyting they want and be right downtown.

    That is a great block of homes. I am glad to see something is being done with it!


Leave a comment




Blog Categories

The Archives

streetsblog.net